Summer Smoothie Bowl

IMG_7163

Hey y’all, I’m trying something new on the blog today: a recipe! I made my first smoothie bowl (a trending food right now) the other day and now I find any excuse to whip one up. Of course, a smoothie is a cup makes more sense and is more practical, but I love smoothie bowls because you can put any topping on eat it, rather than drinking it (I imagine it’s tough to drink strawberries).

Here is what you’ll need:

IMG_7196

(I didn’t get this smoothie recipe from anywhere; I just eyeballed it. You can switch this recipe out for any smoothie recipe like this one or this)

• 1 cup of frozen berries

• 1 cup of milk (almond or coconut milk are healthy alternatives)

• 1 cup of flavored sparkling water

• 2 dollops of yogurt

• 1 tablespoon of lemon juice

Here’s what you’ll do:

IMG_7198

This is pretty self-explanatory, but just mix all the ingredients in and blend until smooth. My smoothie was a little liquid-y today, and since smoothie bowls work best when thicker, feel free to put in more fruit or yogurt to your desired thickness.

Toppings:

This is the fun part! Of course you can customize your bowl, but this is what I like to use:

• Granola (I am using vanilla almond from bulk)

• Chocolate chips (we all need a little sweetness for our mornings)

• Coconut Flakes

• Flax seeds (they are high in fiber and omega-2 fatty acids)

• Berries of choice (I usually use blueberries and strawberries, but I accidentally ate all the strawberries last night, oops!)

IMG_7199

(This is the bowl I made today, but the pretty one is above)

Sprinkle these toppings all over of place them from a picture-perfect bowl.

Let me know if you want to see more healthy (and really yummy) recipes on my blog!

monogram_2015-01-25_20-44-11

One thought on “Summer Smoothie Bowl

Leave a Reply

